Citizen     Business     Government     Visitor

South Platte River Subbasin Overview


The South Platte River subbasin in Wyoming is located in the southeast corner of Wyoming. This subbasin contains the Crow Creek and Lodgepole Creek drainages, both of which are tributary to the South Platte River. The subbasin covers about 2,000 square miles in Laramie and Albany Counties. The State Capitol City of Cheyenne and the Towns of Burns, Albin, and Pine Bluffs are located in the South Platte River subbasin.

Additional information and maps of the South Platte River subbasin can be accessed by using the menu displayed on the left or the navigational menu displayed on the top of this page.


The Platte River Basin Plan is a planning tool developed for the Wyoming Water Development Office. It presents estimated current and estimated future uses of water in WyomingĂs Platte River Basin. The Plan is not used to determine compliance with or administration of state law, federal law, court decrees, interstate compacts, or interstate agreements.
Wyoming Water Development Commission
6920 Yellowtail Road
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
Ph. (307) 777-7626
Fax (307) 777-6819